Kikkoman Pearl Soymilk Home
Questions & Answers
Where to Buy
Contact Us
Join Our e-newsletter

New Flavors - Chocolate and Unsweetened
NEW! Pearl Soymilk Flavor!
Try Coffee today!

Banana Nut Bread Featured Recipe:
Banana Nut Bread
Discover new recipes to add Pearl® Soymilk to your daily routine.


Here are the questions we get asked most often. If you can't find the answers to your questions here, please contact us at: info@pearlsoymilk.com.

Is Pearl® Soymilk organic?
All six flavors of Pearl® Soymilk are made with soymilk from whole organic soybeans. Then flavorings are added to make Original, Creamy Vanilla, Green Tea, Tropical Delight® , Chocolate, and Unsweetened. Whenever possible, organic flavorings and ingredients have been used. Three flavors, Original, Creamy Vanilla and Green Tea all meet or exceed the national guidelines for organic certification. Tropical Delight® falls just short of the threshold required for USDA certification. When you drink Tropical Delight®, however, you should feel confident that it is made with organic soymilk, juice concentrates from highest quality fruits and vegetables, and contains no artificial ingredients.

Can I drink Pearl® Soymilk if I am lactose intolerant?
Yes. All Pearl® Soymilk flavors are lactose-free and can be enjoyed by people with the condition known as being lactase-deficient. Lactase is an enzyme in the body that facilitates the breakdown of lactose-the natural sugar found in cow's milk. Some indications you may be lactose intolerant are bloating, severe gas, stomach cramps or nausea. These will occur between 30 minutes and 2 hours after drinking dairy milk. If you believe you are lactose intolerant, we recommend that you consult your healthcare professional to develop an appropriate diet.

Can I drink Pearl® Soymilk if I have dairy allergies?
Yes. Pearl® Soymilk products contain no animal-based proteins that are usually the cause of dairy allergies. If you believe you suffer from dairy allergies, we recommend that you consult your healthcare professional to develop an appropriate diet.

Is Pearl® Soymilk consistent with a vegetarian or vegan diet?
Yes, because all Pearl® Soymilk products are made from soybeans and other plant-based flavorings, they contain no animal-based proteins.

Are there any preservatives or artificial ingredients in Pearl® Soymilk?
No. Pearl® Soymilk is preservative-free and contains no artificial ingredients.

How much soymilk must I drink to get the heart-healthy benefits?
Just three-and-a-half 8 oz. glasses of Pearl® Soymilk will provide the amount of soy protein believed to provide the desired result of reducing the risk of heart disease. Each serving contains 7 grams of soy protein. According to the FDA, a daily diet that includes 25 grams of soy protein and is low in saturated fat and cholesterol may reduce the risk of heart disease.

Is there a limit on how much soy protein I should ingest?
Soy protein is a natural substance from soybeans. There are no negative effects from eating too much soy protein. However, as with all foods and beverages, moderation should be used.

Can I give Pearl® Soymilk to infants or children?
Yes. Pearl® Soymilk, in all flavors, is appropriate for infants and children as a daily beverage or refreshment. However soymilk should not be used as a substitute for infant formula. While it contains many beneficial vitamins and minerals, it does not have the same nutritional value as a formula created specifically for infants and young children. If you have any questions about substituting infant formula for any other beverage or food product, we recommend you consult your healthcare professional.

Can I cook or bake with Pearl® Soymilk?
Pearl® Soymilk is ideal for use in your favorite recipes. It can be used whenever a recipe calls for dairy milk. In some recipes that rely on milk to "set-up" or thicken, you may need to add cornstarch to chilled soymilk before cooking to achieve a smooth, creamier consistency. Because soymilk is lower in fat, it will not thicken like dairy milk.

Why isn't Pearl® Soymilk sold in the refrigerated section?
Like most soymilk products, Pearl® Soymilk is available in "aseptic" cartons. These cartons keep the soymilk fresh without refrigeration until they are opened.

What is an aseptic carton?
An aseptic carton is a sterile, airtight specially-produced package made for keeping food products fresh without refrigeration. Many foods and beverages like soymilk, soups, tomatoes and sauces are now available in aseptic cartons. You should feel confident that any food or beverage in an unopened aseptic carton will be safe and enjoyable.

How long will soymilk stay fresh in the carton?
Each Pearl® Soymilk carton is marked with a "Best by" date on the top. As long as the carton is unopened, it can be enjoyed until that date. We recommend that you store soymilk, like all food products, in your cupboard or pantry away from direct heat and sunlight in order to preserve its flavor. (Once a carton is opened, soymilk must be kept in the refrigerator.) Pearl® Soymilk will maintain its freshness and flavor for 7-10 days after it is opened.

How can I tell if my soymilk is spoiled?
If you are concerned that your soymilk is spoiled, we recommend that you not drink it. Some signs that your soymilk may have "gone bad" are: unusual smell or color to your soymilk, a bloated or punctured carton, soymilk that has gone past the expiration date printed on the top, or soymilk that doesn't pour out smoothly or has turned "lumpy".

Is Pearl® Soymilk a new company?
Pearl® Soymilk is a product made and distributed by Kikkoman, a global food company. You should feel confident that every Pearl® Soymilk product is made to the highest standards by a company that has been getting the best out of soybeans for more than three centuries. For more information about Kikkoman visit www.kikkomanusa.com.

© Copyright 2009 KIKKOMAN SALES USA, INC. All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy